Experiment – Making music visual

IMG_1347 IMG_1346IMG_1336The third experiment was on the stairwell wall here but someone has taken it down! IMG_1333 IMG_1334

Through this experiment, I wanted to see if music could still evoke a response when it is made visual and typographic. I chose three well known songs that evoke positive feelings, took a line from each and placed these around Uni to test if students respond to them.  The first song I chose was Bob Marley’s ‘Three Little Birds’, as in one of my other experiments a student said that song makes them feel good. I placed this on a whiteboard with the line ‘This makes me…’, however I didn’t get any responses from this. I think that this may have been because there wasn’t a whiteboard marker there all the time to write comments as it kept getting moved. I would be interested in finding out if even though people didn’t respond to it, if it still evoked thought or emotion when they read it.

The second visual I put up in the stairwell, not so that people could respond to it but just to give them a positive thought as they were walking by. This may lead to the song getting stuck in their head, a positive thought or memory, or they may feel motivated to listen to music to make them feel good. This visual however was taken down the day after it was put up! I’m not sure if someone took it down because they hated the particular song or they love it, but either way it still shows that someone had responded to the visual.

The third song was Six60’s ‘Don’t forget your roots’. Everyone knows this song and I find that it’s a feel good song. I put this up on a different whiteboard with the line ‘This makes me feel…’ and actually got some responses on this one! The comments were about the song being outdated and one person wrote “Cringe”. This particular song may not have evoked positive feelings for these particular respondents, however it still shows they people were able to recognise the music through a single line from a song made visual rather than from hearing it. From this I can assume that there were people who didn’t respond to it, but still recognized the song and felt some kind of response to it.

Overall, I found that music doesn’t have to just be in audio format for people to recognise and respond to it. Music can be made visual and still evoke thoughts and feelings. This is of course a different experience to actually hearing the song, but it can still encourage people to engage with music and it also shows how powerful music is when we don’t even have to hear it to experience an emotional response.

Leave a Reply

